Fun Inc.

20 Feb

Fun Inc is a book that was recommended to me by Gill Wildman (of ‘Plot’) through the Master blog when I posted my original project proposal (see ‘What’s The Story?’ section).

I must admit to not finding it out immediately but the recommendation was supported about a month later through a @brainpicker (#ff) twitter post.. so I ordered on the spot and wasn’t disappointed.

As well as being an invaluable source for my project I have also chosen to review it for this semester’s Design Writing module. So, for now I’ll say that I’m enjoying it and that a full review will follow in due course.

A happy coincidence… if I can call it that, I suppose it was inevitable… through the course of researching his book Chatfield made contact with my key expert, Derek Robertson.

Derek works for Learning and Teaching Scotland (LTS) in the position of ‘National Advisor for Emerging Technologies in Learning in Scotland’.. the title, he dryly remarks, won’t fit on his business card!

I was fortunate enough to meet up with Derek in December and learn more about his determination to demonstrate the value of learning through contexts most of us view as entertainment.

Derek Robertson (left) 'GBL Hero'

In Fun Inc, Chatfield states, ‘It’s largely thanks to him that Scotland now leads the world in the emerging field of what Robertson calls “games-based learning (GBL)”.’

I met up with Derek again on Thursday and amongst other things we discussed a couple of exiting developments… In March’s of this year a GBL conference is to take place in Dundee, co-hosted by Dundee College and Abertay University; and also within the 2 weeks, the first ‘International Journal of Games Based Learning’ was published. More on both in a future post.

It seems to be the perfect time to be working and researching in the area of GBL and I’m convinced that there are opportunities to do something that could have a genuine impact and be of value to the subject.

Impact, value ‘and’ Fun..? …just doesn’t seem right..!

You can listen to both Derek Robertson and Tom CHatfield talking about GBL here:

Leave a Reply

