What’s in the Box?

12 Nov

Anything…

EVERYTHING!

I thought it was time now to put down a few more words and pictures about a little prototype I put together for my final Masters show. The idea had been in my head for a while but I was preoccupied with putting my final presentation together, completing essays and what not…

But while I was putting the final touches to the display for the show I became obsessed with getting this final piece, and after an entire week of sitting next to a noisy, smelly laser cutter I managed to get a 3 editions of a product that worked! See more about the production process here.

So what is it?

Well, the inspiration is the classic wooden toy, something that can be played with but is probably best just looked at. During my Masters year I hadn’t spend anywhere near as much time as I would have liked in the Uni workshop so I decided that with the academic pieces out of the way I’d spend my final week making stuff!

So, what’s in the Box? It’s a jigsaw. But the shape to be made is a bespoke designed QR Code that links in to the QReate (QReate.co.uk) QR CMS and at point of purchase you can have that code point to a URL of your choice. Not only that, but you get access to a mobile site where you can redirect the QR for yourself – as many times as you like. It’s the gift that keeps on giving!

So who would want one? Well, here’s an idea. Fathers day – Dad gets a cool desk toy as well as a link to the latest family online album. Birthday – Mom gets a custom painted box from the kids and a link to the latest family video that dad put online. Conferences – they’d make great conference gifts which link to the sponsors chosen content or video of the best bits of the event… in any event they’re a classic looking memento with a tech spin…

Apart from anything else, if I do say so myself, I love the logo!

What do you think?

Please leave comments below…

Leave a Reply

